skip to page content
home | course search | site map
Queen Margaret University Edinburgh logo and also link to the homepage
 



Staff Profiles

Academic staff at IGHD come from a wide range of disciplinary backgrounds including health economics, psychology, anthropology, nursing, medicine and development studies, and have extensive professional experience.

Academic staff

Administrative Staff

Associate Staff

Research Students

 

Academic Staff

 

Alastair Ager
Professor and Director
Institute for Global Health and Development

MSc (University of Birmingham), 1985
PhD (University of Wales), 1983
BA (University of Keele), 1978

Email: aager@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

Supervision

Publications

 

Barbara McPake
Professor and Research Director for ReBUILD
Institute for Global Health and Development

PhD (University of Wales)
BA (University of York)

Email: bmcpake@qmu.ac.uk

Overview

Research

Publications

 

Sophie Witter
Professor of International Health Financing and Health Systems

ReBUILD Programme
Institute for Global Health and Development

PhD (University of Aberdeen)
MA (University of Leeds)
BA (University of Oxford)

Email: switter@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

Supervision

Publications

 

Carola Eyber
Senior Lecturer
Institute for Global Health and Development

BA (University of Cape Town)
Higher Dipl Educ (University of Cape Town)
MSc Psychology (University of Cape Town)
PhD (Queen Margaret University)

Email: ceyber@QMU.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

Supervision

Publications

 

Suzanne Fustukian
Senior Lecturer
Institute for Global Health and Development

MSc Social Policy and Planning in Developing Countries (LSE, University of London)
BA (SOAS, University of London)  

Email: sfustukian@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

 

Karina Kielmann
Senior Lecturer
Institute for Global Health and Development

Ph.D. (Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health)
M.A. Medical Anthropology (McGill University)

Email: kkielmann@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

Supervision

Publications

 

Bregje de Kok
Lecturer in Global Health
Institute for Global Health and Development

PhD (University of Edinburgh)
Msc by Research, Pyschology ( University of Edinburgh)
MA, Psychology (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen)

Email: bdekok@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Publications

 

Oonagh O'Brien
Lecturer in International Health
Institute for Global Health and Development

BA (University of Hull)
Cert Ed (Thames Polytechnic)
Cert Health Ed (Kings, London)

Email: oobrien@QMU.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

Supervision

Publications

 

Alison B Strang
Senior Research Fellow
Institute for Global Health and Development

PhD (University of London, Institute of Education)
BA (University of Durham)

Email: astrang@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 131 474 0000

 

Overview

Research

Publications

 

Rebecca Horn
Research Fellow
Institute for Global Health and Development

PhD (University of Birmingham, School of Psychology)
BSc (University of Surrey)

Email: rhorn@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

Supervision

Publications

 

Fiona O'May
Research Fellow
Institute for Global Health and Development

MSc Psychology and Health (Stirling University)
BSc Psychology (Stirling University)

Email: fo'may@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Supervision

Publications

 

Predrag Duric
Lecturer
Institute for Global Health and Development

PhD Public Health (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)

MSc Physiology, Neurophysiology (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)

MD General Medicine (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)

Epidemiology (specialisation), (University of Novi Sad, Serbia).

Email: pduric@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

Supervision

Publications

 

Nicole Vidal
Research Assistant
Institute for Global Health and Development

PhD, Global Health and Development, IGHD, Queen Margaret University 2016
MSc by Research, Global Public Health and Social Policy, University of Edinburgh 2010
MSc, Social Anthropology, University of Edinburgh 2009
BA, Anthropology, University of California Santa Barbara 2006

Email: nvidal@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)131 474 0000

Overview

Research

Teaching

 

Karin Diaconu
Research Fellow
Institute for Global Health and Development

PhD in Public Health (University of Birmingham),

MSc Health Sciences - Cancer Epidemiology (University of York),

BA in Politics Philosophy and Economics (University of York)

Email: kdiaconu@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)131 474 0000

Overview

Research

 

 

Administrative Staff

 

Kyoko Jardine

Institute Officer

Institute for Global Health and Development

Email: kjardine@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)131 474 0000

 

 

Claire McLellan

Institute Officer

Institute for Global Health and Development

Email: cmclellan@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)131 474 0000

 

 

Associate Staff

 

Allison Beattie

Staff Associate
Institute for Global Health and Development

Email: allisonevabeattie@gmail.com

Overview

Publications

 

James Buchan

Staff Associate
Institute for Global Health and Development

c/o School of Health Sciences
Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh

Email: jbuchan@qmu.ac.uk

Overview

 

John Edmonstone

Honorary Fellow
Institute for Global Health and Development

Email: jedmonstone@qmu.ac.uk

 


Overview

Publications

 

Anuj Kapilashrami

Staff Associate
Institute for Global Health and Development

Lecturer, University of Edinburgh

PhD (Understanding the discourse and practice of Public Private Partnerships and implications for HIV management), Queen Margaret University

MSc (Reproductive and Sexual Health Research), London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

MA (Sociology)

Email: Anuj.Kapilashrami@ed.ac.uk

Overview

Research

Teaching

Publications

 
 

Margaret Leppard

Staff Associate
Institute for Global Health and Development

Senior Lecturer, PhD (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine), M Comm H (Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine), RN, HV Cert, NDN (Hammersmith Hospital London, University of Surrey)

Email: mleppard@qmu.ac.uk

Overview

 

Marilyn McDonagh

Staff Associate
Institute for Global Health & Development

Guest Lecturer at QMU and HSA Pakistan in Human Resources for Health

Email: ighd@qmu.ac.uk

 

Overview

Publications

 

Jean Robson
Staff Associate
Institute for Global Health and Development

 

Email: ighd@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 131 474 0000

 

Overview

Research

 

 

David Newlands

Staff Associate
Institute for Global Health and Development

Email: dnewlands@qmu.ac.uk

 

Overview

 

 

Eurig Scandrett

Staff Associate
Institute for Global Health and Development

Lecturer, Sociology, Queen Margaret University

Email: escandrett@qmu.ac.uk
Phone: 44 (0) 131 474 0000

Overview

 

 

Maria Bertone

Honorary Research Associate
Institute for Global Health and Development

Overview

Research

Publications

 

 

Research Students

 
tr>
Name Email Address
Bakojja, Ninah nbakojja@qmu.ac.uk
Bajwa, Fatima fbajwa@qmu.ac.uk
Beyere, Christopher cbeyer@qmu.ac.uk
Calpona, Elisa ecalpona@qmu.ac.uk
Chaudhry, Amjad achaudhry@qmu.ac.uk
Cheng, Caroline ccheng@qmu.ac.uk
Kumar, Vikash vkumar@qmu.ac.uk
Namakula, Justine jnamakula@qmu.ac.uk
Strohmeier, Hannah hstrohmeier@qmu.ac.uk
Uny, Isabelle iuny@qmu.ac.uk
Viola, Lorian lviola@qmu.ac.uk
Zasha, Doosuur dzasha@qmu.ac.uk
Zou, Guanyang (Sunny)

gzou@qmu.ac.uk

 

Recent PhD Completions

Name Thesis Title Email Address
     
Araujo, Edson

The demand for health care coverage in the two-tiered Brazilian system.

earaujo@qmu.ac.uk
Bermudez, Keven

Social connections and trust among destitute, undocumented African migrants in Barcelona, Spain.

kbermudez@qmu.ac.uk
Jirawattanapisal, Thidaporn (Pook)

Delivering ART service in Thailand: Predicting future workforce requirements and deployment patterns enabling and sustaining universal access through different models of care.

tjirawattanapisal@qmu.ac.uk
Kachale, Blessings

Elderly carers: The experiences of the elderly caring for orphans and vulnerable children in the context of the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Chiradzuru District, Malawi.

bkachale@qmu.ac.uk
Vidal, Nicole Crossing boundaries for maternal health: A qualitative investigation into the role of community health workers as frontline providers of care. nvidal@qmu.ac.uk

 

^ to top

 

last modified 23/08/16 Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh EH21 6UU - Tel: +44 (0)131 474 0000
find us | contact us Copyright © Queen Margaret University. terms of use | accessibility | FOI & data protection